Quarterback Club Awards

Ridge Riley Award:

  • Honors a senior for sportsmanship, leadership and friendship.
  • Recent winners:  Trevor Williams (2015), Miles Dieffenbach (2014), Stephen Obeng-Agyapong & Garry Gilliam  (2013), Drew Astorino (2011), Chris Colasanti (2010), Sean Lee (2009), Gerald Cadogan (2008), Matt Hahn (2007),

Richard Maginnis Memorial Award:

  • Presented to the outstanding offensive lineman who exemplifies the spirit, dedication and commitment that Maginnis displayed as a member of the 1980-83 Nittany Lions.
  • Recent winners: John Shaw (2007), A.Q. Shipley (2008), Dennis Landolt (2009), StefanWisniewski (2010), Quinn Barham and Johnnie Troutman (2011), Angelo Mangiro (2014), Angelo Mangiro (2015).

John Bruno Jr. Memorial Award:

  • Presented to the outstanding member of the special teams.
  • Recent winners: PatWeber (2007), Kevin Kelly (2008), Jeremy Boone (2009), CollinWagner (2010), Chaz Powell (2011), Pat Zerbe (2013), Sam Ficken (2014), Nick Scott ( 2015)

Nittany Lion Club Award:

  • Presented to the senior with the highest grade-point average.
  • Recent winners: Kevin Suhey (2007), Paul Cianciolo (2008), Andrew Pitz (2009), StefanWisniewski (2010), Ryan Scherer (2011), John Urshel ( 2013), Brad Bars (2014), Dom Salomone (2015)

Outstanding Senior Award:

  • Honors the “outstanding senior player.”  Award is courtesy of Lions Pride.
  • Recent winners: Dan Connor (2007), Derrick Williams (2008), Daryll Clark (2009), Brett Brackett (2010), Devon Still (2011), Mike Hull (2014), Anthony Zettle (2015)

Run-on Award:

  • Honors a non-scholarship senior player who best exemplified total commitment, loyalty, hard work and courage as a member of the Penn State football team.
  • Recent winners: Jason Ganter (2007), Greg Miskinis (2008), Tom Golarz and Pat Mauti (2009), Jonathan Stewart (2010), Jon Rohrbaugh (2011), Matt Lehman (2013), Cole Chiapeialle and Von Walker (2014)

Robert B. Mitinger Jr. Award:

  • Presented to a senior member of the Penn State football team who best exemplified courage, character and social responsibility.
  • Inaugural winner in 2004: Adam Taliaferro.
  • Recent winners: Rodney Kinlaw (2007), Deon Butler and Jordan Norwood (2008), Jerome Hayes (2009), Graham Zug (2010), Andrew Szczerba (2011), Malcolm Willis, Glenn Carson, and Eric Shrive (2013), Ryan Keiser (2014), Angelo Mangiro (2015).

Quarterback Club Award(s):

  • Selection(s) made by the QB Club Board of Directors for student-athlete(s) who deserve special recognition.
  • Recent winners: Terrell Golden and Anthony Morelli (2007), Tony Davis and Josh Gaines (2008), Jared Odrick and Josh Hull (2009), Jack Crawford, Derek Moye, Nate Stupar, Nick Sukay (2011), Adam Gress (2013), Adrian Amos, Bill Belton, Zach Zwinak (2014), Tarow Barney and Kyle Carter (2015).

Coaches Award:

  • A special recognition award presented by the coaches to a senior who in addition to outstanding performance, also exhibited pride, dedication, commitment and exemplary leadership during his senior year.

Robinson-Reid Award:

  • Presented to an outstanding defensive lineman. This award is named in honor of two of Penn State’s most acclaimed defensive lineman Dave Robinson ‘63 and Mike Reid ’69. Both Robinson (1997) and Reid (1987) were inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.
  • Recent winners: DaQuan Jones (2013) Anthony Zettel (2014), Austin Johnson (2015).

Football Letterman’s Club Award:

  • The Football Lettermen’s Club presents the Joe and Sue Paterno Post-Graduate Scholarship, in honor of Joe and Sue Paterno. The Club awards a $5,000 scholarship to an outstanding graduating senior football player to provide recognition and offer financial assistance in his enrollment at a graduate school of his choice.
  • Recent winners: Kyle Baublitz (2013), Ryan Keiser (2014), Matt Baney (2015).

      Iron Lion Award:

  • The Iron Lion award goes to the player who demonstrates the corner stones of Penn State Football Strength and Conditioning which are intensity and consistency.
  • Recent winners: John Urschel (2013), Deion Barnes (2014), Dom Salomone (2015).

      Captain’s Award:

  •   Jesse Della Valle, Miles Dieffenbach, Sam Ficken, Christian Hackenberg, Mike Hull, Ryan Keiser, and CJ Olaniyan (2014), Anthony Zettle (2015).      

      Public Service Award

  • Angelo Mangiro (2014), Ben Kline and Matt Zanellato ( 2015).

      Most Valuable Defensive Player

  • Mike Hull (2014), Carl Nassib (2015)

      Most Valuable Offensive Player

  • Christian Hackenberg (2014), Christian Hackenberg (2015)

      Team Most Valuable Player

  • Mike Hull (2014), Carl Nassib (2015).

      Outstanding Alumni Award

  • Tyoka Jackson (2014), John Gilmore (2015), Marco Rivera (2016)

      Support Staff Of The Year

  • PJ Mullen (2014), PJ Mullen (2015)

      Scout Team Special Teams Player Of The Year

  • Dominic Salomone (2014), Josh McPherson (2015).

      Scout Team Defensive Player Of The Year

  • Antoine White (2014), Ryan Monk and Brandon Smith (2015)

      Scout Team Offensive Player Of The Year

  • Mark Allen (2014), Nick Bowers and Tommy Stevens (2015)

     Highest Academic Average

  • Brandon Smith (2014), Gordon Bentley (2015)